The Department of Agriculture is a vital academic division dedicated to the study and advancement of agricultural sciences and practices. It encompasses a wide range of subjects related to farming, crop cultivation, livestock management, agricultural technology, sustainable practices, and more. Through its programs, the Department of Agriculture aims to equip students with the knowledge and skills necessary to contribute to the development of efficient, sustainable, and resilient agricultural systems.


The scope of the Department of Agriculture is vast and encompasses a wide array of disciplines and areas related to agriculture, farming, food production, and rural development. Here are some key components that fall within the scope of a typical Department of Agriculture:

  1. Crop Science: The study of plant biology, genetics, and cultivation techniques to optimize crop yields, improve quality, and address challenges such as pests, diseases, and climate variations.
  2. Soil Science: Understanding soil composition, fertility, and management practices to enhance soil health, nutrient availability, and sustainable land use.
  3. Animal Science: Focusing on the breeding, nutrition, health, and welfare of livestock animals for optimal meat, dairy, and fiber production.
  4. Agribusiness: Exploring the business aspects of agriculture, including marketing, distribution, supply chain management, and the management of agricultural enterprises.
  5. Agricultural Engineering: Developing and applying technology to enhance agricultural productivity, such as precision farming, automated machinery, and irrigation systems.
  6. Sustainable Agriculture: Promoting practices that minimize environmental impact, conserve resources, and ensure the long-term viability of farming systems.
  7. Food Science and Safety: Studying food production, processing, preservation, and quality assurance to ensure safe and nutritious food products.


Bachelor of Science (Agriculture) Honours [B.Sc. (Ag.) Hons.]
Master of Science (Agriculture) [M.Sc. (Ag.)] in Agronomy, Horticulture, Extension & Ag-Chemistry


The eligibility criteria for B.Sc Agriculture course is 10+2 from a recognized board having Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Mathematics as mandatory subjects.
Candidates seeking admission in Master's Programmesmes should have 4 year Bachelors degree from state agricultural universities(SAU) or From Other universities recognized by UGC. Candidates seeking admission to various master's Programmes are commited only for any two subjects. Candidate who possess an OGPA 7.0/10.0 (OR 60%) aggregate or more are eligible for various Master's Programs.